+ Reply to Thread

Default Adding zone to boiler with built-in circulator

I've just had a Triangle Tube Prestige 110 boiler installed. This is a modulated condensing boiler, and has an internal circulator pump for the hydronic loop.

What is the typical way to add zone to a boiler with an internal circulator? Would I add additional pumps outside the boiler, or just zone valves?

I'm an electrical engineer, so the control logic is easy for me, and I am a pretty good amateur plumber. So I'd like to do this part myself.

The old forced air system only served the first floor, and the second floor stayed pretty warm anyway. We thought we could get away with just heating the first floor for the time being, but it turns out that it's not the case with the new hydronic system.

Default Re: Adding zone to boiler with built-in circulator

First, congrats on buying such a great boiler---I know you'll be satisfied with it.

Zoning on hydronic systems is done with either circs or zone valves.

Circs require more components & have the advantage of providing heat even if one of the circs dies at 1 a.m. on a sub-zero nite.

Many techs prefer circs because in the past zone valves were not reliable, but that is no longer the case.

I would recommend 2 zone valves supplying the internal Grundfos circ you have now, due to the low cost of zone valves & the relative ease of the diy install.

You didn't mention the sq.footage of the upstairs & downstairs---I assume this is for baseboard---but how many total feet of basebard/rads/radiant??

You would have to separate the piping so that you would have an upstairs zone and a downstairs zone.

A third zone is often used to run an indirect hot water heater--all on the same circulator.

A useful precaution is to install a shutoff ball valve of appropriate size on either side of the Grundfos circ & have a spare circ handy in the event it dies at an unexpected moment.