+ Reply to Thread
Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 38 of 38
  1. #31
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alpharetta, Ga
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Maybe a diagram or pictures would help.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Ohmy

    Diagrams are located in previous posts.

  3. #33
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    New connections I think should do the trick?? I am using halo lights.

    At light 1
    A. (New cable black) connected at L1 to (Power black) and (switch white). (3 connections)
    B. White from (Light 1) and (light 2), new cable white (white wire from L4) to (power white). (4 connections)?
    c. black connected from light 2, and light 1.

    At light 4.
    A. (New Cable black) connect to (switch white), (black to smoke detector.) (3 connections)
    B. (Switch black) to (black Light 3) and (black light 4). (3 connections)
    c. connect white from light 3, and 4 and white from wire going to smoke detector.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Quote Originally Posted by RISurfer View Post
    Maybe I am missing something.
    Here are the connections I made.

    At light 1:

    a. switch white connected to power wire black (coming from circuit)new black wire going to light 4- 3 connections.

    b. Black connected from light 2, light 1, switch black ( 3connections).

    c. White connected from light 2, light 1, power white (coming from circuit, and the new white wire going to light 4. (4 connections).

    At light 4:

    a. switch white connected to new wire black (coming from light 1).black wire going out to smoke detector (3 connections)

    b. Black connected from light 3, light 4, switch black, (3 connections).

    c. white from light 3, light 4 white from new wire coming from light 1 and white going out to smoke detector. (4 connections).

    Did I mess up the wiring? Thanks.
    It's easy to look at the diagrams and reread the instruction.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Ha. For some reason I get confused with the concepts of electricity. It's like a foreign language.

    I figured it out. Everything works great.

    Thanks McDaniel for you patience and help! Saved me $700. Inspector comes tomorrow to check my work. Thanks again.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Electrical inspection passed. Thanks all.

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Congrats .--- you are now an official DIYer
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  8. #38
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    I shake my head at the brilliance. The thought of switching an electrical conductor on or off is revolutionary.

    Do you think i can try this at home? Currently I just screw bulbs in and out when light is needed..... or not.


    -------------------------------------------------------------------
    Entourage dvd
    Lost dvd

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •