+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: conduit

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    7

    Smile conduit

    how deep should it be in the ground

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: conduit

    Generally speaking 12" except for an underground SE cable and our utility company requires 48" for that.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: conduit

    Perhaps it may be a regional thing ---- 18 inches around here.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: conduit

    Oops, not a regional thing just a mistype. My bad 18" unless it's ridged metal conduit then you only need 6" unless you are going under driveways or streets.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Oops, not a regional thing just a mistype. My bad 18" unless it's ridged metal conduit then you only need 6" unless you are going under driveways or streets.
    Jack
    I think that number as a regional thing as well.
    NEC 300.5{A** does break it down: All locations not specified.
    Rigid metal or IMC conduit 6"
    PVC or other raceways 18"
    Great minds think alike.
    PS. Concrete 2" & concrete 4", as well as concrete driveways change everything.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by InMyRoom View Post
    Hi, can I ask a question? I lost the design of my house, and now I need to know the way the conduit passes through, since there is a problem with my house's electricity system.

    Does anyone know how can I fix it?
    Not sure what the routing of the conduit has to do with your problem because you don't say what the problem is.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: conduit

    Quote Originally Posted by InMyRoom View Post
    Hi, can I ask a question? I lost the design of my house, and now I need to know the way the conduit passes through, since there is a problem with my house's electricity system.

    Does anyone know how can I fix it?
    Call in an electrician
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •