+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 38
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    The situation.

    In the basement I have 2 lights and want to install a switch. I need the one switch to operate both lights. Sure it would be easy if I could run the power source to the switch but the wiring goes directly to the light fixtures.

    Source => Light 1 => Light 2

    Any help would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Need a little more information.

    Are these 2 existing lights operated by a pull chain ? ( I'm suspecting so )

    Are they currently supplied by seperate circuits ?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Grounding is omitted for clarity but should be connected together.
    White wire should be redesignated as hot with black marker.
    Jack
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adding switch.JPG 
Views:	245 
Size:	21.6 KB 
ID:	3467  
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Thanks for the replys. Yes the lights are pull chains. I have 4 in may basement all located on one circuit. Two lights on one side and two on the other side of the basement. I would like to operate two switches to turn on and off two seperate sides (2 light fixtures) of the basement.

    I figure I will utilze the power to the light fixtures and place a switch in between two lights using 14/3 wire and do the same for the opposite side???

    I do have a different circuit that operates the receptacles. I guess I could run wire from the receptacle to a switch to the lights but I would have to re wire the basement ceiling.

    I am looking for the easiest way to accomplish this.
    Any help and suggestions would be appreciated. Thanks.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Basicly I guess I will follow the diagram by McDaniel for each side of the basment.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    That diagram is for one switch controlling the two lights. Are you talking about two switches?
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    I have 4 lights in the basement connected to one circuit. They are pull chains all on one wire. I want to control one side of lights (2 lights on left and 2 on right) with two seperate switches. One switch to control the right and one switch to control the left lights.

    The diagram provided can achieve this correct? Or do I need to run wire from the receptacles to two different switches to control the right vs. left lights and therefore box up the original circuit running in the ceiling.
    Thanks for the help.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Pull the cable between 2 and 3 and install new cable between 1 and 4.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	adding switch.JPG 
Views:	113 
Size:	32.7 KB 
ID:	3468  
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    Quote Originally Posted by deadshort View Post
    It must be the water in Ohio..........? I shake my head at the brilliance. The thought of switching an electrical conductor on or off is revolutionary.

    Do you think i can try this at home? Currently I just screw bulbs in and out when light is needed..... or not.
    I don't know, down here in the boonies we still use coal oil lamps we have found a much better use for copper.
    Jack
    Last edited by JLMCDANIEL; 04-25-2010 at 10:17 PM.
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    37

    Default Re: How to Install switch to operate two lights.

    McDaniel thanks for the help and diagrams.

    I am a little confused. Can I keep the existing 2 wire in the ceiling?

    I figured I could run the power to the 1st fixture and the 2 wire to the 2nd fixture(existing wire). I would add a 3 wire to a switch from the 1st and 2nd fixture. Run the 2 wire to the 3rd and 4th fixture (existing wire). Then add another 3 wire to another switch from the 3rd and 4th fixture. Done?

    The only additions would be adding a 3 wire betwen the fixtures and from the fixtures to switches? Can I use the current wires?

    Thanks for your help!

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •