+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default One furnace or two?

    I recently purchased a four-square house built in 1908. The house is 750 sq ft upstairs and 750 sq ft down stairs with a full basement. I am trying to determine if I should put one furnace in to heat the entire house or if I should put one furnace in the basement for the 1st floor and one in the attic for the second floor. Does anyone know if there is a way to determine which option is best?

    Thanks!!

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    Your house is certainly small enough to be heated by one furnace.
    The first cost for 2 furnaces will be much larger than one furnace sized to heat the whole house. I guess where to run ducts is an issue. What type of system do you have now?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    There is currently one furnace in the basement that heats the house. The duct work is in good shape and is rigid metal.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,259

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    I would go with one in the basement hooked up to the existing duckwork. Basically switch out the old unit with a new one.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    Thanks ed21! I thought the same but mine was uneducated. Thanks again for the help.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    Ditto to what ed21 said .... if you want look at zoning the first and second floors.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    With regards to zoning the first and second floors. Will this allow me to have a separate thermostat for each floor? Also, what can I expect to pay for adding a zoning option?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    Yep ..... you will have seperate thermostats for each floor.

    Costs will depend on the brand ... model .... contractor ... region.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Iowa, Quad-Cities area
    Posts
    129

    Default Re: One furnace or two?

    Zoning will cost around $4,000. It works beyond belief.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •