+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Cloudy Windows

Unhappy Cloudy Windows

After 3-4 years some of the windows in our new home started to cloud up. We've replaced them one-by-one but now the arched windows have clouded and we've been told that they are entire units and quite expensive. Would it be possible to just replace the glass?

I've checked all the postings on windows and could not find any problem like ours. The windows are not on any particular side of the house so that the sun or wind causes this problem...

Default Re: Cloudy Windows

I'm not a window pro, but what I have been told over the years is that the windows cloud due to the seal being broken between the 2 panes of glass...assuming these are double paned windows. Condensation and/or dust gets in between and you have cloudy windows. If it were me, to try to save money, I would try taking the glass apart, since the seal is already broken and cleaning the windows. I'd let them get bone dry before putting them back together and then use a good silicone caulk to make sure they are once again air tight. Time consuming and labor intensive, but windex and caulking are much cheaper than replacing the glass or getting new windows and if it works, you've saved yourself a bundle. Hope this helps!

Quote Originally Posted by sjbraun View Post
    After 3-4 years some of the windows in our new home started to cloud up. We've replaced them one-by-one but now the arched windows have clouded and we've been told that they are entire units and quite expensive. Would it be possible to just replace the glass?