Default Endless hole behind tile

I am trying to replace an old ceramic towel bar that was originally installed in a tile wall in my 1950s bathroom. I've read through a few threads but I have a unique problem. When the right bracket fell out, it revealed that there's no sheetrock behind the tile in that spot. So I'm ready to reset the bracket with Thin Set Mortar, but it seems there's nothing to attach it to... in otherwords, it's a big black hole into nothing. I am not equipped (nor skilled enough) to start replacing tiles, etc.. I just want to find a way to put that bracket back in... Any advice? I'm very new at this.

Default Re: Endless hole behind tile

Not sure from the date of this post if you have solved the problem or not. If you did, I for one would like to hear what you did.

For me, what I would do would be to determine how much room is on the back side of the surrounding tiles, get a strip of thin wood that goes at least 3 inches to each side of the hole.

Use a good quality epoxy on the board and then vice it to the surrounding tile by placing a cross bar outside and screwing through the inside board.

Once dry and secure, fill with whatever is appropriate, possibly waterboard, then you're built up to the level of the rest of the tile to set the tile back in.

I am not a contractor or tile man, just a weekend warrior with a weird sense of approach to things.

Hope it helps.

Maverick

Maverick is right, gluing a backer to the backside of the wall will not only give you something to reset your tile to, it will provide reinforcement for the towel bar.
    Come to Hidden Content for all your DIY needs

A endless hole where is a good physicist when you need one?

Quote Originally Posted by Timothy Miller View Post
    A endless hole where is a good physicist when you need one?
    Oh, wait, wait. No, just can't get it.

and I think you meant an Astrophysicist.
    Maverick
    Child Liaison
    BACA Brazos Valley