+ Reply to Thread
Page 6 of 6 FirstFirst ... 456
Results 51 to 57 of 57
  1. #51
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    Quote Originally Posted by Ravens53 View Post
    Well Baltimore city had ammended the code and at one time required conduit in a unfinished basement. People used Romex as a close line
    Exactly.
    The main reason that say 12/2 must run though floor joists in a cellar, not under them...

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    Quote Originally Posted by kentvw View Post

    Canuk will go into sleepy time soon......... We try and humor him................
    LOL .... but he never goes away ...
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    And mine .... big sky .... dang high rises







    We're quite proud of our tree .... it's a tourist attraction
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    Thanks for the pic.
    Being a coal cracker, it is truly amazing.
    Last edited by Ernie_Fergler; 09-06-2008 at 10:27 PM. Reason: spell check

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    I bought a house that was built in 1883. It use to have the old wire that ran through porcelain. Which at one time was changed over to two wire system. I am putting in 3-prong pluggins because buying cheaters all the time is a bummer. In my breaker box the neutral and ground bus bar are combined into one bar. My electric boxes in the walls are not metal, they are plastic single gang boxes. Being my neutral and ground wires run into the same bus bar in the breaker box. Can I run a ground wire from the neutral wire to the ground on my electrical outlets/pluggins? My neutral wires and grounds are the samething.
    Last edited by justy; 09-16-2008 at 11:39 PM.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    MN
    Posts
    455

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    I'm no electrician but I don't think your allowed to physically attach the bare ground wires to the neutral wires at the same points.

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: Convert 2 plug outlet to 3 plug outlet

    I think you maybe right, That's why I asked. Even though my bus bar in the breaker box is both neutral and ground combined. I don't think you can wire like that in the electrical box plugins. I doubt that would be code. I'll install 3 prong plugins for now and wire it as a 2 prong. Down the road, Maybe I'll take the old plaster and lats off and run some 12-2 or 14-2 wire so I have a ground to my boxes. That way it should be code. Some of my wires in the walls are fat black old things. Probably a good idea to replace them. The common wire has a cloth sheathing around it. Could be a fire hazard. So I'll wait. And replace it. Thanks for the help.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •