+ Reply to Thread

Default new crown molding meets existing cabinet crown molding

I am installing new crown molding in my great room. I have existing kitchen cabinets with crown molding at the top. The new crown molding needs to meet the existing cabinet crown molding. The cabinet crown molding is stained alder, the room crown molding is a bit larger and is MDF that I will paint. I'm just an amateur and don't know how to cut the new molding with the exact profile to mate with the existing molding. Any suggestions on how to do this? Are there any articles or books that explain how this should be done?

Thanks,

-Steve

Default Re: new crown molding meets existing cabinet crown molding

Being different sizes, there's no way to cut to make them mate up. Use a corner block to define the transition between the two. Google corner block if you're not sure what they are.

It doesn't matter that one is stained and one is painted, that will marry just fine, it is the size difference that will be the problem, hence the corner block.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!

Thanks for the info A. I will certainly look into the corner block idea, I had not considered that.

Is there any way to cope one crown molding into the other when they are different sizes? Or is that only for Michelangelo? If I decide to hire an expert to come in and handle this transition how would he do it?

Thanks,

-Steve