+ Reply to Thread

Default Awful odor when baseboard heater on

I live in a 1970's duplex which have baseboard heaters, probably original. They worked fine until last year. Now, when turned on, one of the heaters in my bedroom gives off an awful odor like urine. There is no odor when the heaters are off.
    Is there a way that the heater can be safely dismantled and the odor eliminated? I don't want to spend another winter using a space heater! BTW, I have 2 cats. Help!

Default Re: Awful odor when baseboard heater on

Quote Originally Posted by rhiannon960 View Post
    BTW, I have 2 cats. Help!
    I think you know why you have the smell. I bet the cats enjoy the smell though.

I would try to remove the covers & clean with one of the enzyme cleaners they sell in the pet stores to remove pet odors. It's probably in the carpet too.

Get a dog, dump the cats.

Smile Re: Awful odor when baseboard heater on

Thank you for your response. However, as I am a complete novice to home repairs etc, I would like to make sure I do this right. Should I switch off the electric breaker before removing the cover or just the switch to the heater itself?
    (I love dogs, but it wouldn't be fair to leave them alone whilst I'm at work, so I have my cats.)

I wouldn't bother with the enzyme cleaners. They don't work all that well. (We have three cats, two of them very well-mannered and one total neurotic.)

For the metal heater parts, use household bleach, diluted, and scrub everything you can scrub. For the rug, use borax crystals. Sprinkle the area heavily, wait a day, and vacuum it up. Repeat at least three times. If it is a heavy carpet with a pad beneath, this may not work and you may have to remove the carpet.

By the way, dogs are guilty of these transgressions, too, so don't give up your cats.

I was assuming hot water heat, if electric breaker- off & be careful with water.

Smile Re: Awful odor when baseboard heater on