+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Madison, WI
    Posts
    1

    Default GFCI hard to plug into

    Our house was built in 2001. Since day one, several of our GFCI outlets have been tough to plug into. They function, they're just "sticky." Is this how they are supposed to work?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    Different manufacturers will make the contacts snug while others don't ---- basically it's hit and miss as to how snug they are.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alpharetta, Ga
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    There is a tool that measures the proper tension on the outlets, I am not sure if its something that you can get at a HD or Lowes. Its called a tension test or something like that. Generally, GFI's are a little tighter which is a good thing. You want a strong connection.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    Quote Originally Posted by ohmy View Post
    There is a tool that measures the proper tension on the outlets, I am not sure if its something that you can get at a HD or Lowes. Its called a tension test or something like that. Generally, GFI's are a little tighter which is a good thing. You want a strong connection.
    Let's see --- by a device to check the tension --- and then what ?
    Unless it can make adjustments to the tension I don't see the point. Besides, the OP has pretty much tested it for free.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,792

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    Hard to plug in usually means it has better and heavier contact springs.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  6. #6

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    I work at Lowes part time in the electrical department. At my store we don't sell it but you may want to check your local store.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Alpharetta, Ga
    Posts
    55

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    http://www.woodhead.com/data/current...struments2.pdf

    Here it is. Its called a woodhead Receptacle tension tester (generally its used for testing to see if outlets in a house are worn out, but I guess you could use it the other way).

    I don't own one.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: GFCI hard to plug into

    Still don't see the point of checking the tension level when you can't do any adjustment.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •