+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19
  1. #1

    Default No Ground On My House

    MY GROUND FOR MY HOUSE I BELIEVE IS ON THE WATER MAIN, SO IF MY HOUSE WERE TO GET STRUCK BY LIGHTENING AND I WAS ON THE PHONE I WOULD BE DEAD. SO MY QUESTION IS HOW DO I PUT A GROUND ON MY OLD HOUSE?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Call an electrical contractor.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Quote Originally Posted by keepdreaming_21 View Post
    MY GROUND FOR MY HOUSE I BELIEVE IS ON THE WATER MAIN, SO IF MY HOUSE WERE TO GET STRUCK BY LIGHTENING AND I WAS ON THE PHONE I WOULD BE DEAD. SO MY QUESTION IS HOW DO I PUT A GROUND ON MY OLD HOUSE?
    You might be dead on the phone or you might be dead on the John....

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Houston, TX
    Posts
    62

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    You will need to have a grounding rod installed. There are so many stipulations on where, how deep, how many you need, etc, that calling in an electrician to evaluate what you have is likely the best thing to do. It is fairly common for the electrical system to be grounded to the cold water pipe, but this is usually only secondary to the ground rod.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Quote Originally Posted by JEWEATHER View Post
    You will need to have a grounding rod installed. There are so many stipulations on where, how deep, how many you need, etc, that calling in an electrician to evaluate what you have is likely the best thing to do. It is fairly common for the electrical system to be grounded to the cold water pipe, but this is usually only secondary to the ground rod.
    I agree that there are stipulations. But your local code officer should be able to provide them. And if you feel you can work inside a panel box, it is something a homeowner could tackle....
    Last edited by Ernie_Fergler; 08-02-2008 at 10:16 AM. Reason: spell check

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Just as a point of interest, having your home grounded or not doesn't effect the phone. The phone system is independent or the electrical system with the possible exception of a power supply for a wireless phone or fax. If you get your house properly grounded you could still get killed using a phone during an electrical storm.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    It seems that's an advantage of the cordless phone.

    Curious .... what's the stats. on people being electrocuted using the land line phones?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Round here the local cable company grounds their demarcation boxes with a strap to the meter base. I always thought that was odd.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    It seems that's an advantage of the cordless phone.

    Curious .... what's the stats. on people being electrocuted using the land line phones?
    I don't know, but I have seen a lot of computers blown up that had dial-up modems. It's probably about as many as get electricuted taking a shower during a storm.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The deep South
    Posts
    459

    Default Re: No Ground On My House

    Quote Originally Posted by Ernie_Fergler View Post
    Round here the local cable company grounds their demarcation boxes with a strap to the meter base. I always thought that was odd.
    I have seen some surge protection units in the phone Demarc boxes . That's probably what the ground is for .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •