+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Circuit Breaker

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Circuit Breaker

    I have a wall outlet that is properly wired but I can not find the specific circuit breaker that controls that outlet.
    When I shut down one breaker at a time the outlet remains live. When I shut down all 15 Amp Circuit Breakers at once the the outlet does finally shut down.
    The house is 5 years old and all electrical wiring is up to date.
    I have used a CB location device but it doesn't find the specific breaker either.

    Any thoughts on solving this problem will be greatly appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,836

    Default Re: Circuit Breaker

    Work in the opposite direction. Turn all the breakers off. Then turn them on one at a time until the outlet is live. Mark that breaker, turn it off again and continue with the other breakers. If it comes on with more than one breaker you have a wiring problem.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    4

    Default Re: Circuit Breaker

    I did use the reverse method originally and the outlet did not become alive until all circuit breakers were back on.
    I then assumed I had the correct (last one to be turned on) breaker
    only to discover that turning that one off did not shut off the
    outlet.
    I guess it is a wiring problem but what would cause such a situation to occur? Is it a bad breaker or a combination of breakers or what other possibilities could be at fault here?
    As I indicated earlier I did a check of the outlet to determine
    whether or not it was wired properly and the indication was that it was.
    Ant further assistance will be greatly appreciated.
    padric74

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7,189

    Default Re: Circuit Breaker

    Even though the home is only 5 years old, has there been any electrical work done to it, specifically, has a 220 circuit been removed, but the breaker for it still feeding the circuits in question? What often happens is the tang that holds the breaker toggles together on a 220 breaker is removed in an attempt to make a 110 breaker and save $40. If this is your case, you'll get feed-through from the other side of the breaker when only one side is turned off. The repair for this is to change out the 220 breaker for a set of 110's of the appropriate amperage.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Circuit Breaker

    Something about your explaination on how you have tried to trouble shoot this does not sound right. If I were you I would follow McDanials advice to the letter and see if more than one breaker heats up the circuit.

    It would be my bet that when the house was wired a couple of circuits that were intended to be separate got connected and are now being fed with two breakers which are on the same phase.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Circuit Breaker

    Is it possible this might be a switched outlet?

    If it is maybe half might be on one circuit and the other half might be on another circuit.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •