+ Reply to Thread
Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 50
  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    This my be to simple of a question but, did you flip the switch on the thermostat to heat and the turn the temp up past current temp?
    Jack

    Yes, and I had it on 90 degrees.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Did the orginal wire setup have only 4 wires hooked up?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    Did the orginal wire setup have only 4 wires hooked up?

    yes, red, blue, green and white.

    I did remove the thermostat, it only has 4 wires.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    On the heat pump did you have a "Y" terminal? On some heat pumps you have to have a jumper from "Y" to "W".
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    which wires go to which terminal on the thermostat ?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    On the heat pump did you have a "Y" terminal? On some heat pumps you have to have a jumper from "Y" to "W".
    Jack

    on thermostat itself.....
    yes, there is Y and W terminal but no jumper...
    let me take pictures of thermstat and post here within 10 minutes.


    FYI.... I did not replace entire length of thermostat wiring.
    Just the junction connection outside to inside of A/C / heater circuit board.
    Last edited by BigWalt; 09-28-2008 at 11:09 PM.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Is there a "Y" on the heat pump?
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..






    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Is there a "Y" on the heat pump?
    Jack

    I have to go outside during the day.....right now it is raining like MOFO....


    question.......
    Is there outside thermostat that prevent heat pump coming on?
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    I'm going to take a quess here , Red is 24 vac, G is fan, W is heat, and your Blue is cool. The thermostat mearly closes a switch and connect Red to White for heat, Red to Green for the blower motor, and Red to Blue for cooling. So when the cooling is on you should have 24vac on the Green to turn on the blower and on the Blue to turn on the cooling. When you call for heat you should have 24 vac on the Green and the White. Usually Yellow is used for cooling but in your case it seems that Blue was used..
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •