+ Reply to Thread
Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
Results 41 to 50 of 50
  1. #41
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Ok.....it is not a heat pump.
    It is A/C and gas heat furnace assembly. I'll post pictures later.

    I have the panel off and I'm checking few things.
    The pilot light is working correctly...I got mini shock...... you should all see my newly mohawk hairdo....
    anyway, I remove it and check it, it does emitted healthy sparks.
    One thing I notice.... no odor....

    I did shut off gas supply and remove sediment trap. It is clean and it does have gas odor.

    I'm suspecting clogged nozzles because I've seen multiples spider webs.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  2. #42
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Ok, here are updates...

    #1... Spider webs arenít the problem.
    #2....This furnace looks like it has been replaced because the nozzles and other whachamacallit is either replaces or cleaned.

    #3.... Found the problem...little piece of plastic fell out when I was removing gas line to automatic shut off valve inside the furnace. [see picture]

    #4.... Clean the valve and nozzles...[ I had them out anyway]

    #5.... Replace rusty 1/2" pipe union and reassemble whole thing....

    Viola.....works flawlessly......



    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  3. #43
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Viola.....works flawlessly......
    Great stuff


    #3.... Found the problem...little piece of plastic fell out when I was removing gas line to automatic shut off valve inside the furnace. [see picture]
    So .... was this plastic piece supposed to be there or not ?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  4. #44
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    Great stuff


    So .... was this plastic piece supposed to be there or not ?


    it is not solid plastic, it is more like a plastic wrap covering pipe opening, valve opening prior assembly or shipping ??

    The thickness of this plastic is equivalent to plastic wrap on meat package.

    I just couldn't tell you where it is coming from but I found it inside the pipe near the shut off valve.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  5. #45
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by BigWalt View Post
    it is not solid plastic, it is more like a plastic wrap covering pipe opening, valve opening prior assembly or shipping ??

    The thickness of this plastic is equivalent to plastic wrap on meat package.

    I just couldn't tell you where it is coming from but I found it inside the pipe near the shut off valve.
    Ah ... so it was blocking gas flow to the valve?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  6. #46
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    Ah ... so it was blocking gas flow to the valve?
    yeah, like I mention earlier....no fuel odor....
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  7. #47
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Today, we got no heat....... ... great......
    I double check my previous repairs.....everything is perfect.

    There is some kind of thermostat sensor on top of shield [right above burner assembly.]
    See the picture somewhere above....
    it is white wires with button on top...kinda like circuit breaker to reset......I believe the sensor turn off the gas valve when the shield gets too hot.

    Anyway, I press the button and the burner comes on...

    I thought I could have defective sensor until I look at the burner itself.
    Do the flames suppose to come out from the center of the burner only or edge of the burner and center of the burner...look at the picture below, you'll see blue highlight area. It is the part I'm talking about....

    Notice...it is not the actual burner but it is very similar.

    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  8. #48
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,798

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Yes there should be a flame across the "blue" area in your picture, that's how the flame goes from one burner to the next. That area clogs easily due to rust or dirt and is easy to clean.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  9. #49
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Yes there should be a flame across the "blue" area in your picture, that's how the flame goes from one burner to the next. That area clogs easily due to rust or dirt and is easy to clean.
    Jack

    Ok, Thanks..... I thought the flames must come out of center hole.

    It must be the sensor itself, unfortunately it is working flawlessly today. I tried to wiggled the sensor wiring and pushing the button, but the heater still work. I'm going to wait until it stops working then check the sensor.
    "Life does not go by the book, we learn as we go along".

    You only need two tools in life - WD-40 and Duct Tape.
    If it doesn't move and should, use WD-40.
    If it shouldn't move and does, use the Duct Tape.


  10. #50

    Default Re: A/C unit not working..

    Yeah, could you re-post your image? It's not working.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •