+ Reply to Thread

Default Low to No hot water in upstairs bath :(

We live in a 1930 Brick Cape Cod home. The problem is in our upstairs bathroom. We have very low hot water pressure (like not much more than a trickle). The pressure is so bad that we've had to turn the hot water temp on our heater up too high, just so we can add some cold water to increase the shower pressure...

The odd thing is that the hot water pressure in our downstairs kitchen and 1/2 bath is fine. The cold water is also fine in all areas...It is only a problem in our upstairs shower and sink.

Help please...we now dread the shower because there is either no pressure or we have to get a cold shower...not great in the Northeast right now.

Smile Re: Low to No hot water in upstairs bath :(

I am not an expert on plumbing but think I know what your problem might be. My grandmother had a house about the age of your house and while it wasn't quite as large as your house sounds like it is it had a similiar problem. In my grandmothers bathroom the water pressure got so bad that she had to call in a plumber to see what was wrong with her pipes. It turns out that she had steel pipes going through her house and over the years the steel started to corrode.
    It cost my grandmother a great deal of money to have all of the pipes changed over to copper but once she did everything was fine from then on and she had more than sufficient water pressure.