+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Clay dirt

Unhappy Clay dirt

Hi,

I just recently bought a new house in south western Ohio. My backyard is basically a medeium sized backyard. But the thing is that there is patches of clay dirt everywhere. I dont know if grass will grow in the clay or to till up the patches or what. Please guide me in the right direction and give me some advice.

Chris

Smile Re: Clay dirt

I am not an expert by any means. BUT I live in northern Indiana and better than half my yard is clay dirt. I just started a new lawn in my front yard which is all clay dirt. I gave it water and that was it. It has grown in great. I think you can plant grass seed anywhere and as long as it gets water it would be ok. Hope that helps.

Smile Re: Clay dirt

Quote Originally Posted by chrisjulesneu View Post
    Hi,

I just recently bought a new house in south western Ohio. My backyard is basically a medeium sized backyard. But the thing is that there is patches of clay dirt everywhere. I dont know if grass will grow in the clay or to till up the patches or what. Please guide me in the right direction and give me some advice.

Chris
    It would be best to sod your yard. Clay soils are very dense, retain moisture, and are simply not good for growing much.
    Pat_1

Default Re: Clay dirt

If you put a fertilizer that is high in nitrogen, grass will grow. Fertilizers high in ammonium nitrate for its nitrogen will give a quick boost but will not last long. The better fertilizers use urea nitrate, it will keep it green for about three years. Hope you enjoy mowing.

Default Re: Clay dirt