+ Reply to Thread

Default What ladder for working on nine foot ceiling?

I'll be doing a series of tasks near the top of a nine-foot ceiling. I'll be: cleaning; repairing plaster; cleaning and sanding old trim; and priming and painting ceilings, walls and trim, including a lot of cutting in around trim and edges. I'm wary of attempting this with a simple stepladder, as I saw a plasterer do recently (he simply stood on the top steps to work up high). Is there a special ladder that will support this work up high, or do I have to use an extension ladder propped against the wall? Thanks.

Default Re: What ladder for working on nine foot ceiling?

You are a funny, funny person! A mere 9'.........

A 6' ladder with you a couple of steps up to reach it...........

Okay, I get the joke.

Honestly, the question is not a joke. I've never worked up that high before, I'm not very tall, and all I own is a shaky, old aluminum step ladder. I want to invest in a new ladder, and I figure there might be something that will help me work safely. For example, I found the Little Giant website, which talks about work planks for use with ladders.

Okay, I apologize to you………….

Just seems an odd question from the perspective of someone who has spent a life time on ladders. Albeit good ladders. Although I will admit I have fallen off of a few and broke my wrist once breaking a fall. Then again I was in a hurry each time and climbed too high or was lazy and over extended my reach rather than moving the ladder.

I would say pitch your old ladder or turn it in for scrap.

We go through ladders like water and I bought four new six footers last week. I will admit to buying fiberglass ones from a big box.

I never have worked off of a ladder platform system but have spent hours on narrow rolling scaffold systems as well as stilts.

Maybe just go to a store and set one up to see how comfortable you are on it.

Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post