+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Question Last 3 days everything is burning up in my house when i plug it in.

Hi everyone I am new to this so please bear with me. I have an older home probably 60 or 70 years old. I have some outlets in the house that don't work. I have never really worried about it I just dont use those outlets. Well here is my problem. Over the past 3 days i have plugged in my vacuum and it stopped working, when I pulled the plug out of the socket it was hot and starting to melt. Next day my dryer stopped working. Checked to see if it was plugged in to find the cord was black and bubbling and heat was coming from the outlet. Last night I plug in my daughter baby monitor and as I am plugging it in I hear a loud pop and an orange glow in the outlet. I immediately stopped trying to plug it in and removed it from the outlet to find the pronges on the monitor black. I called my utility company today. They came out and said my voltage coming into the house is fine. Im so upset at this point. How bad and what could be causing this problem. If anyone has a comment on what it could be please let me no. Thank you
    P.S. I do have an electrician coming out tonite. Im just really worried and I dont understand much about electricity.

Default Re: Last 3 days everything is burning up in my house when i plug it in.

It could be that the spring tabs inside of the receptacles are so worn out that they are not making tight contact with the prong on the plug that you are plugging in.

Think of grabbing your left index finger very tightly between your index finger and thumb. Your left index finger is the prong on the plug and your right index finger and thumb represent the spring tabs in the receptacle.

If those connections are loose then the resistance in the circuit rises and that creates heat. In some cases lots of it.

It could also be loose wiring connections between the wiring and the receptacle its self.