+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Heating oil costs

I wasn't sure where to post this thread , so it wound up here .

Since I live in the deep South , I have NO experience with heating oil and all of it's complicated systems . I'm curious about how much it costs to heat an average sized home . Figure on 2000 sq. ft . and let's say this hypothetical house in in , oh , say Ohio . Just a ballpark figure to satisfy my curiosity .

Default Re: Heating oil costs

hey, it's unbelievable what they want here in New jersey.

I got oil.

I paid over $5000 so this winter an its still cold in the house.

they won't deliver unless you give em cash or a cashiers bank check before they put theo oil in. the tank is only hlaf full an they want %3.30/gallon or no delivery.

they think we're made of money. i can see the oil barges from my house comming up the bay into ney york, so theres plenty of oil out there, they just wont come down on the price so we can afford it.

it's terrible..it's getting worse every day over here.

did you say you lived in south jersey????
    Last edited by Manual Labor; 02-14-2008 at 11:15 PM.

I don't know about oil because I switched to propane many years ago. Our propane for heat only, 2000 sq ft home will be between $1400 and $1600 this year.Southern Ohio. Oh, and we're a little older so we keep the temp on 70 during the day and 60 at night(electric blanket).
    Jack
    Last edited by JLMCDANIEL; 02-14-2008 at 11:29 PM.
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

When you give me a yearly cost , I'm not sure how many months you are talking about . Down here , you might only use the heat off and on for 3 months or so .

Jack , are you using Propane because Natural Gas is not available , or because it's cheaper ?

I use propane because NG is not available.