+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Default Digital thermostat problem

    Woke up this morning to a freezing house. Digital thermostat said only "battery". We replaced the three AA batteries and reset the date and times but heater will not kick on. The air conditioner works as it will kick on and then shut off realizing it's already cold. Digital unit mfg: White Rogers and is about 10yrs old. Can't locate the manuel at moment. Any suggestions before we call for help?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Question Re: Digital thermostat problem

    First, let me erase a confusion. There is a toggle switch between a/c and heat. Naturally, you switch to a/c to check and see if that works, and it does, as well as just the fan. But the switch was not on a/c it was on heat when this problem occured. My stat is on a timer, heat kicks 4am, heat did not kick on. Showed a solid battery word at bottom of lcd. We have done as suggested, wait 5 min put new batteries, de-static, breaker switch off for 5 min etc.. still not working. Someone suggested touching R and W wire. We have a RC W RH in that order. RC is a fat red wire that connects at RH with a skinny red wire. Skinny red wire is the one that goes through the wall. Fat red wire is a surface wire on top of circuit board. Which of those red wires do we touch to overide the stat. Husband thinks the furnace is the prob. You guys are all great what do you think?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    It could very well be the furnace itself having a problem and gone into lock out.



    If you go the White-Rodgers web-site and select the model of thermostat you have and look up the wiring diagram.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4

    Smile Re: Digital thermostat problem

    OK. Found a reset button in an obscure place in the furnace and wa la now it works!. Have had this furnace for 20 years and never had a problem until now. Reset button was higher then eye level and attached to two orange wires.

    Thank you all for your help.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Sand Springs, OK
    Posts
    467

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    I'm glad to hear you're warm again.
    Debby in Oklahoma

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    61

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    sweet warm dreams. good night.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    Quote Originally Posted by mc12863 View Post
    OK. Found a reset button in an obscure place in the furnace and wa la now it works!. Have had this furnace for 20 years and never had a problem until now. Reset button was higher then eye level and attached to two orange wires.

    Thank you all for your help.
    Good stuff ... hopefully it's a one time glitch.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    443

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    Good job everyone!

    Well done!

    We all know what it's like to be in a cold house without heat.

    mc12863: Could you post a photo of the reset button you hit, or describe where it was located.

    Was it by chance on a control going into the flue pipe???

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    Look at where the stat wires are connected to the stat. There should be an R and a W or W1.

    Jumper those two out or put them under the same terminal and your heat should kick on if it is a problem with the stat. Also make sure the stat is set to heat and not cool if there is a selector switch.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    1,982

    Default Re: Digital thermostat problem

    Try taking off the t-stat like you would when you change the batteries & re-install it making sure no contacts were bent & that they all seem to be making proper contact

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •