+ Reply to Thread

Default Resloping an existing garage floor

I have a 7 year old garage floor (3-car wide) that is not sloped from the back of the garage (inside door to house wall) to the overhead garage door side. In fact it appears that it is highest in the center of the garage as water runoff from our cars runs to the house wall side as well as to the garage door side. I would like to figure out how best to resolve this and would like to do it myself if possible. There are some cracks but nothing major. Any thoughts on products or procedures that have worked for others?
    Thanks in advance,
    Mike

Default Re: Resloping an existing garage floor

I just read the link that the poster above me suggested. Don't use that stuff! It's porous! You will wind up with an even bigger mess than you have now. I only know of one solution to the problem and that is to grind the floor to grade it towards the garage doors. Keep in mind that I am not an expert on the subject by any definition of the word! You would probably do well to speak to several different concrete contractors to see what they suggest. Good luck to ya!

Jeff

I know that there are resurfacers that grind down the surface of the garage to put on an epoxy surface. I would think that it would work for leveling the surface as well.
    Debby in Oklahoma

I wouldn't recommend grinding for your situation. I believe you have 3 possible solutions 2 are DIY and 1 is not.
    1]pour a 2" layer over top of the old concrete slopping it the right direction.
    2]install a sump well and pump in the low corner.
    3]hire a concrete leveling company to raise the inside end on the existing concrete.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

I am sure you will receive plenty of suggestions, but the best recommendation would be to start over if you cannot put a minimum of three inches over the whole thing. Tapering b from a crack to the edge would be very difficult.