+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Default Planning a bath is tight space...

Is there a souce for planning tools for bathrooms. I have a very small old master bath. It presently has 6' x 6' footprint ( no tub). I can get added space by taking out an adjoining closet and getting a space 11' x 6' to work with. Still very small. The exact placement of tub, shower etc. is going to difficult to get right. I figure graph paper and cut outs are going to be inportant, but I can not find a resource to tell me the size and instillation needs for differnt types of sinks, tubs etc. ANy resource you can point me to?

Default Re: Planning a bath is tight space...

Your Best bet would be to go to a plumbing Supply store they will be able to give you the information you need. One important thing to keep in mind is that that you have to make sure you will be able to get the shower and or tub in the house (through doorways, up stairs, around corners etc.). A one piece shower may look nice an be easy to keep clean but it is not likely to fit through a lot of interior doors. I put one in my house during a complete rehab and had to put it in before any interior walls were up. We actually had to hoist it over the stairway since it was not going to go around the corners of the stairway. Hope this helps you out.

11'x6' is plenty of room to build a bathroom. If you put a tub against the 6' wall that leaves you at least 8' for a vanity & toilet. A workable space as long as the door placement works.
    It's not a luxury bath, but plenty of room to get the job done.
    Any book about home or bath design will give you planning ideas.
    Or hit the stores & check out the sizes of tubs available.
    In general leave 18" from the centerline of the toilet to the next fixture. The rest is based on the size tub you want and the vanity or sink is fairy flexible. If you want to reuse your existing fixture locations it will be a bit more difficult to plan.