+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Electrical Nightmare

    Recently, I purchase Intermatic wall timer switch. [Special Thanks to Canuk for finding the correct item]

    Today I decide to install timer in place of regular living room wall switch. I couldn't believe what a mess it is.

    There is no ground wires connected.
    4 white wires were taped together.
    Wires were jammed inside the little dinky plastic box.

    ***, the previous installer should be sent to electric chair.

    Anyway, I did the best I could for temporary until tomorrow night I have to find deeper box and corrected all the errors.

    I measure the depth of this plastic box and I come up with 2" deep.

    Is there a box that have the depth of 2/34" or deeper?


  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    It certainly looks like exceeded your fill requirements, or someone else did before you.
    Going by the pic, the box looks like an "old work" PVC box.
    And yes they do come in different depths.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Quote Originally Posted by Ernie_Fergler View Post
    It certainly looks like exceeded your fill requirements, or someone else did before you.
    Going by the pic, the box looks like an "old work" PVC box.
    And yes they do come in different depths.

    Originally there were on/off switch on left side of the box. I just put in timer switch today. You should've seen my face when I first remove the faceplate.

    I just hope deeper box will fit into existing hole. One way or another, I'll stop at Lowes tomorrow night and see what they have.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    You are an ignorant phuck.

    Your box was already overfilled with the combo switch now you stuffed it like a sausage just like you stuff your fat face.

    You are not allowed to swap an ungrounded snap switch with a dimmer or a timer switch. You have no EGC but you installed it anyway, what a moron.

    A deeper box isn't your only problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Ackroyd View Post
    You are an ignorant phuck.

    Your box was already overfilled with the combo switch now you stuffed it like a sausage just like you stuff your fat face.

    You are not allowed to swap an ungrounded snap switch with a dimmer or a timer switch. You have no EGC but you installed it anyway, what a moron.

    A deeper box isn't your only problem.

    LMAO...nice try.

    Who said I left the ground disconnected?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    7

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Today I decide to install timer in place of regular living room wall switch. I couldn't believe what a mess it is.

    There is no ground wires connected.
    there a box that have the depth of 2/34" or deeper?
    there is no ground wires connected.

    You did you ignorant CannonBallRun phuck.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Pennsylvania
    Posts
    246

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Ackroyd View Post
    there is no ground wires connected.

    You did you ignorant CannonBallRun phuck.
    Nice reading skills Leslie.

    You really think I actually leave ground wire disconnected?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Big Walt, As these types of boxes are very easy to remove and reinstall you might consider widening the hole and get a 3 or 4 gang.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    Quote Originally Posted by Dan Ackroyd View Post
    You are an ignorant phuck.

    Your box was already overfilled with the combo switch now you stuffed it like a sausage just like you stuff your fat face.

    You are not allowed to swap an ungrounded snap switch with a dimmer or a timer switch. You have no EGC but you installed it anyway, what a moron.

    A deeper box isn't your only problem.
    Back off ...

    It's time this forum got some active moderators to control things here.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The deep South
    Posts
    459

    Default Re: Electrical Nightmare

    A check of ISP addresses would go a long way to eliminating
    " trolls " like this .

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •