+ Reply to Thread

Default Bathroom Floor Tile

Can you lay ceramic tile over previously laid ceramic tile? And if so what do you use for cement?

Default Re: Bathroom Floor Tile

While I'm sure someone somewhere has done this it in my opinion is not a good way about going about a tiling job. I would certainly recommend pulling up the tiles. One important reason especially in a bathroom is to to inspect the sub-floor for any water damage that may have occurred over the years. If there is you can fix it before it becomes a bigger problem. I would then get off all the old mastic and lay down a new sub-floor if necessary and flatten and level it. After the floor is nice and even and flat put down a cement board product following the manufactures instructions and then lay your tiles. If you do this stuff in my opinion you will end up with a floor that is much less likely to crack. I am not a pro but I have seen a lot info on this and I have never heard a professional tile person recommend going over old tile. Hope this helps you out.

I tend to agree with the previous post. I'm currently involved in a project remodelling 20 bathrooms. The floors are all ceramic tile laid on a concrete slab with thin-set mortar as the adhesive. With a chipping hammer (kind of a down-sized version of a jack hammer) we can remove the existing tile in about an hour. A chipping hammer can be rented at any tool rental store for about $40 or so per day. For this small expenditure of time and money, it would be foolish to risk the liability & possible callbacks of leaving the existing tile in place. Tiling over the existing tile would also raise the floor 1/4" to 1/2", causing a problem at door thresholds.