+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default Self Stick Vinyl tiles w/grout

I was at Lowes today exploring flooring options for a bathroom. I was considering Sheet Vinyl, Tile or Lamininate flooring. I saw that Armstrong has a new product called "Cera Strong". It's a self-stick Vinyl tile with rounded edges that you can use with or without grout.

This looks exactly like what I'd like to do. The problem is, I can't find ANYTHING ****** about this product. Lowes says that it's brand new. Does anybody have any experience with durability and grout adhesion? It reccomends "sanded acrylic" grout be used.

Thank you for your help in advance. I am a novice and am planning on doing a whole bunch of minor remodels with this being my first project!

Default Re: Self Stick Vinyl tiles w/grout

Pam,

Never heard of the product.

Not a fan of self-stick tiles and so wouldn't use them, let alone try to place grout between them.

My fear is that this is yet another product intended to appeal to the growing crowd of novice DIYers........which won't render quality long-lasting results.

Ditto ****ies thoughts.

Peel and stick tiles do not provide a water tight surface. If the tiles are exposed to sunlight/heat, they shrink, discolor and curl. Put your hard earned money towards sheet vinyl or ceramic tile, you won't be sorry.

If your looking for a good quality vinyl tile, go with Nafco Permanstone of with Congoleum Duracermic. You can go grouted or ungrouted on the Dura Ceramic which is a limestone based product with a vinly covering. The only probelms we have had with this product is that with the ungrouted application, the tile are not 100% square. If you do use the ungrouted system you will also need to seal the edges. The Nafco Permastone is a pure vinyl product with grout lines made into the tile. Each tile has two grout lines so that they will be seamless when placed together.

www.nafco.com
    www.congoleum.com