+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 25
  1. #11
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Kent,
    Andy stated that a ground rod was installed a a ground wire was run to the panel.

    Even those surge suppressor power strips used to protect computers from surges require a ground to work.
    Jack
    Andy did state that the wire was brought to the panel but did not elaborate on whether the neutral was then bonded to the grounding system at that point. Point being
    that if any "hot to ground" fault occurs the breaker will not see enough of the fault and will not trip unless that bond is made. This is more of a life safety hazard than having no ground at all.

    I had not thought about it at the time but you are 100% correct on the power strips with regard to surges and electronic protection being cleared back to the grounding conductor.

    I usually try and answer electrical questions per NEC and like the NEC with life safety taking priority over all.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Kent,
    You've made a good point about the neutral /common junction. I may have errored in thinking that if an "electrician" did the job he knew that. I shoudn't have considered the rest of what he said.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Kent,
    Andy stated that a ground rod was installed a a ground wire was run to the panel.

    Electronic equipment use filters to ground to remove electrical noise, surges, EMI, and RFI . It may be as simple as an RC network tied to ground to some fairly complicated circuitry. Even those surge suppressor power strips used to protect computers from surges require a ground to work. In doing surveys before the installation of electronic equipment, a proper ground was one of the first things we checked for and required. Jack
    Jack ... wouldn't this only apply to devices with a ground plug ... any device that has only 2 prong plugs wouldn't have this consideration.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Canuk,
    You are correct 2 prong plugs do not need ground but how do you know what is going to be plugged into the outlet. It may be a lamp today and tomorrow they may rearrange furniture and put a computer desk there.

    Do you know why the newer 2 prong plugs have a wide and a narrow prong and why it is important to wire up a lamp with the right wire to the narrow and wide prong?

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post

    Do you know why the newer 2 prong plugs have a wide and a narrow prong and why it is important to wire up a lamp with the right wire to the narrow and wide prong?

    Jack
    Ohh,Ohh, I know, I know!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    Canuk,
    You are correct 2 prong plugs do not need ground but how do you know what is going to be plugged into the outlet. It may be a lamp today and tomorrow they may rearrange furniture and put a computer desk there.
    Jack
    Yep ... what will be plugged into the outlet can change.
    Sorry I wasn't clear with my post .... to qualify electronic equipment.

    You mentioned : Electronic equipment use filters to ground to remove electrical noise, surges, EMI, and RFI . It may be as simple as an RC network tied to ground to some fairly complicated circuitry ... these would have a three prong plug. In cases it would be ideal to provide isolated and dedicated grounded circuits to these but not very practical for residential applications.

    You are absolutely correct in order for them to utilize the filtering circuitry they would require a grounded circuit .... though they would operate on a non grounded circuit just without the proper filtering designed into them .

    The common AC powered electronics that utilize a two prong plug won't have this consideration since they don't require and have no connection to ground.


    Oops... straying off topic a bit.

    Do you know why the newer 2 prong plugs have a wide and a narrow prong and why it is important to wire up a lamp with the right wire to the narrow and wide prong?
    What's the prize ... a NEW car or a Halloween pumpkin ?
    Attached Images Attached Images  

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The deep South
    Posts
    459

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Here's a hint . " Lamp socket "

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Denver, CO
    Posts
    666

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Okay you's wise guy's............. If you are using two wire "zip" cord to feed said socket in a table lamp which wire should be used for the neutral?

    Go ahead................ no fair googling either.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by canuk View Post
    Yep ... what will be plugged into the outlet can change.
    Sorry I wasn't clear with my post .... to qualify electronic equipment.

    You mentioned : Electronic equipment use filters to ground to remove electrical noise, surges, EMI, and RFI . It may be as simple as an RC network tied to ground to some fairly complicated circuitry ... these would have a three prong plug. In cases it would be ideal to provide isolated and dedicated grounded circuits to these but not very practical for residential applications.
    How about variable speed drill with 3 prong plug?
    How about a refrigerator with a 3 prong plug?
    How about an antenna rotor control with a 3 prong plug?
    There are a lot of 3 pronged items used in the home.
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,558

    Default Re: Grounding old oulets

    Quote Originally Posted by kentvw View Post
    Okay you's wise guy's............. If you are using two wire "zip" cord to feed said socket in a table lamp which wire should be used for the neutral?

    Go ahead................ no fair googling either.
    Kent, The real question is why?
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •