+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    TAUNTON
    Posts
    1

    Exclamation adding a breaker to my panel

    I need to add 1 or maybe 2 breakers to my panel for my x-mas lights. I have so many thing that i keep tripping the breakers. I would like to add a double outlet beside the old one in the front and do the same to rear of the house. Would love some feed back on trhis i don't want to lite myself up.
    Thanks
    Steve Wilson

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7,155

    Default Re: adding a breaker to my panel

    If you're having problems already, I'd recommend bringing in an electrician to assess your electrical needs and possibly upgrade your service. You should not have breakers tripping on a regular basis, you're either demanding more of your circuits or your electrical system may be compromised.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    florida
    Posts
    598

    Default Re: adding a breaker to my panel

    Ditto...................
    Gizmo

    Cut it 3 times & it's still to short.
    Inventor of the Miter Master Plus.

    Hidden Content
    Hidden Content

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: adding a breaker to my panel

    I think Willy just meant that he tripped the breaker with his holiday lighting.

    Adding a circuit or two is not all that tough. Without knowing the particulars it is pretty much impossible to offer advice.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: adding a breaker to my panel

    check the manufacturer name plate on the panel and acquire the breaker. If you're just doing lights then 15 amp will probably suffice. You'll need the correct fittings for attaching the wire to the panel, the wire, 14/2 with ground will do if you're just going with 15 amp circuit. If you're putting the duplex on the exterior you will need to use GFI plug. Turn the power off when you get to doing the work inside the panel!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: adding a breaker to my panel

    Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post
    I think Willy just meant that he tripped the breaker with his holiday lighting.

    Adding a circuit or two is not all that tough. Without knowing the particulars it is pretty much impossible to offer advice.
    That is how I read the OP as well.
    Great minds think alike....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •