+ Reply to Thread

Question Damaged Joists Need Replacement or Sistering - Which and How?

I recently purchased and moved into a 120 yr brick farmhouse that has a dirt basement with humidity issues (I've placed a dehumidifier in there and that has seemed to help greatly).

The floor joists have significant insect damage. During the initial home inspection, the inspector suggested that they be replaced, but can also be sistered. He added that sistering the joists could be something I could do own my own. The insect damage has left part of the floor in one of the first floor rooms uneven.

I would very much like to use the most environmentally sound ("green") alternative as possible, including lumber treated with borate or reclaimed hardwood or whatever.

Bottom line, however, is that I need to address this problem. My initial question is which option - replacement or sistering - is the most practical. And if its sistering and its something I can do myself, how? I'm not an engineer, but I'm not above learning quickly. (I also have friends that are slightly more inclined to having better carpentry skills than I.)

Any suggestions or info would be much appreciated. Thanks. (See photos attached)
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Basement 1.jpg 
Views:	2693 
Size:	32.4 KB 
ID:	244   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Basement 2.jpg 
Views:	2274 
Size:	31.4 KB 
ID:	245   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Basement 3.jpg 
Views:	2305 
Size:	34.3 KB 
ID:	246   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Basement 4.jpg 
Views:	2192 
Size:	35.9 KB 
ID:	247  

Default Re: Damaged Joists Need Replacement or Sistering - Which and How?

Wish I had more time to take some pic of my basement and how I