+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Hello All,

    I am running 17 feeds to my 200 AMP service panel in the basement. The panel is a 200 AMP Cutler-Hammer panel. There are several holes on the top of the panel for the cable clamps however there is not enough to support 17 feeds each having their own entrance hole. So my question is: Is it allowed to have more than one feed enter the box through the same hole/cable clamp?

    Thanks,

    Chris

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Just check the listings on the clamps you want to use.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by christech View Post
    Hello All,

    I am running 17 feeds to my 200 AMP service panel in the basement. The panel is a 200 AMP Cutler-Hammer panel. There are several holes on the top of the panel for the cable clamps however there is not enough to support 17 feeds each having their own entrance hole. So my question is: Is it allowed to have more than one feed enter the box through the same hole/cable clamp?

    Thanks,

    Chris
    An allowable practice to is use a 3/8 Romex connectors with two 12/2 feeds passing though.
    I did think I read where in is not allowed in Canada, though.
    Any thoughts on that?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Ernie,

    Thanks for the clear reply.

    Also, thanks NEC, however I find myself scratching my head when I read some of your replies.

    Regards,

    Chris

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by christech View Post
    Ernie,

    Thanks for the clear reply.

    Also, thanks NEC, however I find myself scratching my head when I read some of your replies.

    Regards,

    Chris
    Thanks!.........

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post
    Thanks!.........
    I scratch my head when I proof read my replies. An analog man in a digital world.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Ernie_Fergler View Post
    I scratch my head when I proof read my replies. An analog man in a digital world.
    You put it well.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post
    Just check the listings on the clamps you want to use.
    Way to make it confusing ... using words like check and clamp ... pffft
    Help us name our new Hidden Content

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Ernie_Fergler View Post
    I scratch my head when I proof read my replies. An analog man in a digital world.
    Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post
    You put it well.
    Here .. Here
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: Running Feeds into Main Service Panel

    Quote Originally Posted by Lloyd View Post
    Way to make it confusing ... using words like check and clamp ... pffft
    Lloyd,

    What does one check for on the cable clamp? Does the cable clamp specify the number of wires allowable through the clamp? Overall, is there a limit to the number of wires that I should run through the hole in a 200 AMP box? For example, if I run a 3 wire 12/3 and a 12/2 will I get flagged by the inspector? What's your experience?

    Thanks,

    Chris

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •