+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default 2 switches on same circuit

    I'm using the power coming from a nearby outlet. In the 2 gang box I have and original 3 way switch powering a light and a new regular switch to power a new fan. Im just not sure where to go from here. I have the hot from the outlet getting pigtailed to 2 wires to each switch. The hots to the light and fan are also on the switch. The neutral whites from outlet, light and fan are all spliced together, as well as grounds. The 3 way works fine, but the fan when turned on by the switch turns the light on ans sometimes a little dim. What am I doing wrong? any help with a diagram?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: 2 switches on same circuit

    Is the 3 way switch supposed to control the light on the fan and the single switch controlling the fan ?
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: 2 switches on same circuit

    The 3 way is for a light in a hallway, separate from the fan. The fan has no light on it.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    jersey
    Posts
    174

    Default Re: 2 switches on same circuit

    edit to completely change my entire post because I misread the OP's post.

    Dimming is usually the result of a loose nuetral. I would start there.
    Last edited by Lloyd; 09-26-2009 at 12:05 PM. Reason: I thought op wanted me to say something stupid....
    Help us name our new Hidden Content

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: 2 switches on same circuit

    If you don't have 3 wires on the 3way switch, I would guess you have a white traveler wire connected to neutral .
    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: 2 switches on same circuit

    Quote Originally Posted by JLMCDANIEL View Post
    If you don't have 3 wires on the 3way switch, I would guess you have a white traveler wire connected to neutral .
    Jack
    I nagree. then attach to the putty colored wire.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •