+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Worthington OH
    Posts
    0

    Default Plug unused breakers

    I've removed 2 breakers from my breaker box. There used to be electric wall heaters in both bathrooms. They each had their own circuit, so when I removed the heaters, I pulled the breakers. Are there snap in covers I can use to plug the open holes where the breakers used to be in the panel cover? The box is Square D if that's relevant.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Indiana
    Posts
    25

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    Yes, just do a Google search on Square D filler plates. Make sure you match your panel type; QO, Homeline, etc.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7,240

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    If your local big box doesn't have them, any standard electrical supplier will. As stated, get your box brand and type before heading to the store.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    109

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    Have the electrician properly abandon the circuits (not just cap them off).

    Disconnect and remove the wiring for the circuits from the Load Center/Service entrance, and simply reinstall the breakers, place in the Off position, re-mark the panel legend for those positions "future expansion".

    Are these CBs in a split bus panel being used as a service? If so you'll need to coordinate with your electrical ultility.
    Last edited by Gray Watson; 09-22-2009 at 11:11 AM.
    SPAM: never liked it from a can, can't stand it on a board forum. This board needs MODERATORS!

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by mjbraun View Post
    I've removed 2 breakers from my breaker box. There used to be electric wall heaters in both bathrooms. They each had their own circuit, so when I removed the heaters, I pulled the breakers. Are there snap in covers I can use to plug the open holes where the breakers used to be in the panel cover? The box is Square D if that's relevant.
    I too would just leave the original breakers in place, switched off, and marked "spare".

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    693

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    Ernie hit it on the head. Disconnect and cap the wire off at the breaker if need be.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Shamokin, Pa.
    Posts
    645

    Default Re: Plug unused breakers

    Quote Originally Posted by NEC View Post
    Ernie hit it on the head. Disconnect and cap the wire off at the breaker if need be.
    I did miss the disconnect part though....

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •