+ Reply to Thread

Default painting old stucco: remove old paint or just patch? how to prep?

I'm painting the stucco portion of my 1920's house, and the exterior finish is not in great shape - lots of years of paint, and it has cracked in many places (the paint, not the stucco) and in many places has large chips (size of thumbnail to size of a fist). Is it best to fill in the cracks and patch over the chips, or remove all of the layers of old paint down to the layer that is still holding together? If I should remove it, what's the best method? Any idea of how to prep stucco for repainting anyways, with so much paint on it already? Pressure wash? Sc****? Help!!!

Thanks for any advice!

Default Re: painting old stucco: remove old paint or just patch? how to prep?

Your house sounds like the old part of mine. I am NOT an expert, so I may have totally screwed this up, but I rented a 2000 PSI powerwasher to blow the crappy old paint off. I was warned to be very careful not to blast the stucco off along with the paint.

In some places, I did in fact blast off off hard, thick chips of stuff that might have been repairs or resurfacing over the original stucco, or maybe the original stucco was supposed to be two layers. That was probably a mistake, but I whatever I took off, there was very definitely more stucco beneath it, and I never got down to the cinderblock substate anywhere. Nor did I expose any cracks in the remaining stucco, which argues that whatever came off was not old repairs. Considering that my stucco has very obvious repairs in a number of places, where little or more likely no effort at all was made to match the original texture, I don't think I made the surface look any worse than it already was. I hate stucco.

I was also advised I could use a wire brush.