+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Question Replacement Vanity not as deep - vinyl floor too short

We are replacing our bathroom vanity and the new one is not as deep as the old one, by about 2 inches.

The problem is that the glued down vinyl floor we had put down last year, is cut and is now too short.

We have some left over but no piece is the length of the cut and we will have to use 2 pieces.

Other than removing the floor and putting in a new one, does anyone have any ideas on how to make the floor look good in front of the vanity. I don't even know what kind of adhesive to use to be sure it doesn't peel up over time.

Thanks!

Default Re: Replacement Vanity not as deep - vinyl floor too short

So you have a 2" gap, in front of the new vanity, between where the vinyl floor ends and where the new vanity sits?

I'm just an amateur, but I've never had much luck with patching vinyl flooring like that. The seams never turn out well for me. If you do decide to go that route, you'd patch it down with a mastic-adhesive you'd find at the hardware store.

Is the new vanity made of wood? Instead of patching the vinyl, maybe you could add some new trim to the vanity to cover the gap. A wider base, maybe a quarter-round shoe, might be enought to cover 2".

Just a thought... good luck!

Thank you!

It's 1 and 3/4 inches.

I did consider a front panel or something like that, that goes on the bottom, but they only make them 3/4" thick.

We are thinking of possibly looking into putting a thin piece of marble or cultured marble there. Then I guess we would have to strip back the vinyl to that point, since I don't think we could put the marble on top of the vinyl. But I'll ask about the installation once I order it.

Quote Originally Posted by msandi View Post