+ Reply to Thread

Unhappy air in hot water supply

Newbie here and I looked but didn't see relevant threads and apologize if this is the wrong area or a repeat. Anyhoo... I submitted the question to ATOH but thought I would post it here also in case they pass on my submission. Why settle for one rejection when you can go for two.?.

My new addition has a boiler and dual purpose tank (radiant and potable). A well supply line is split to supply the old copper and the new pex. Pex feeds the appliances via home runs from a manifold. Problem: excessive air emanates from the hot side in all faucets and spigots but not the cold side. Water dispensed from the hot side into a glass looks like Alka Seltzer water. Inactivity will also cause large air pockets and faucets will 'burp' when turned on after a week of non-use. Also, I do not have the same issue in the old house with the copper and a dedicated hot water tank. The plumber who installed it says air is normal and doesn't know what to do. Is it normal or should I be looking for a new plumber?

Default Re: air in hot water supply

my tank had a spigot at the bottom, i attached a hose to the tank and let it run several minutes, this seemed to help.

I will check my tank but I seem to remember all the plumbing running out through the top. Thanks.

Biff,

Could you post the brand name & model number of the boiler---this sounds like a combi boiler like the Biasi or Valiant units that have a diaphragm inside for the domestic hot water---they often act up due to mineral deposit clogging.

Do you have well water???---if so, are you sure your well pipe connections to the hw are not picking up air from a hole or tear in the well pump???