+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Exclamation Hardwood Floor Gap Forensic Analysis

The house:
    2.5 year old townhouse near Washington DC
    Living/Kitchen/Dining room approximately 18' X 36'
    Hardwood flooring running in the 18' direction/perpendicular to the length of the room.

The issue:
    Every year in the Fall, the hardwood floor opens a gap nearly 1/4 inch across the room in the exact same spot.

Builder response:
    This is "normal" seasonal change. The hardwood contractor states that this is common in homes.
    They did finally agree to bring in a 3rd party inspector. I would like to have good, well thought out questions ready for them.

About me:
    I am an engineer and their answer doesn't sit well with me.
    I believe this is a subfloor issue.
    I have had numerous homes with hardwood and I have never see an issue like this without other contributing factors (subloor problem, division between home addition, etc...)

Am I missing something? Could this be just a coincidence that it happens in this one spot and the builder is correct??

Thanks!

Default Re: Hardwood Floor Gap Forensic Analysis

Pursue this issue until corrected. 1/4" gap is not acceptable.

Please report back.

No gaps in my hardwood floors. Suspect that the flooring was not acclimatized before it was installed.

Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb