+ Reply to Thread

Default washing machine supply line

My washing machine supply line is still leaking after I turn the handle to the off position! Why and how can I fix it? Any suggestions or advice would be greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance folks!

Default Re: washing machine supply line

Some dripping can be expected but it has to stop at some point, if it doesn't that's your sign that the valve is defective.

If your hoses are leaking, replace them. They are inexpensive.

With the valve off, turn on the washing machine to the fill cycle, warm water temp. That will relieve pressure in the lines. Turn the machine off. If the hoses repressurize and leak, your shutoff valve is faulty.
    The "Senior Member" designation under my name doesn't mean I know a lot, it just means I talk a lot.I've been a DIYer since I was 12 (thanks, Dad!). I have read several books on various home improvement topics. I do not have any current code books I can refer to. I was an apprentice plumber for two years.

In a lot of older homes, these valves are much the same as the outdoor faucets and can be re-washered and repacked similarly. If you have a machine hooked up and there are no leaks, this can be ignored. Often you discover this only when the old machine comes out, leaving the valve free to leak. If it's not severe and you're going to just replace the machine than simply run a hose between both valves till you get the new machine in, then mop up after it's hooked up. Do not leave the hose in place 'permanently' as a fix because it is tying the hot into the cold which can lead to someone turning on cold and getting burned from the unexpected mixed hot. Newer style shutoff valves may have to be replaced if parts aren't available for a rebuild (I've never tried that, I always just put in new valves to be done with it).