+ Reply to Thread

Default blown-in cellulose insulation - good or bad?

Newbie here in need of the best advice possible. I've qualified for a federally funded weatherization program administered by my N.C. county. They are soon to start work on my hundred year old Mill Village cottage (990 sq. ft.) that has no insulation. Among many other improvements they will make, the program will include blown in cellulose insulation.I need advice about this from trusted professionals as soon as possible, as the entire project should be starting within the next week or ten days. I've read at bobyapp.com that this insulation technique isn't good; that it gets damp and falls to the bottom, attracting termites etc. Please share what you can so that I will know how to proceed with this insulation decision. Many thanks!

Default Re: blown-in cellulose insulation - good or bad?

Cellulose is treated with a sodium borate solution as a fire retardant. The sodium borates make the cellulose very rot resistant and very undesirable to termites. But it can get wet if there is not a vapor barrier applied to the inside of the exterior wall.

In the winter, moisture laden warm air migrates into the wall cavity where the moisture will condense when it hit the cooler surfaces. To prevent this you need to keep the moisture from getting through the wall.

You can tear out all the interior wall material, probably lath and plaster and put in a vapor barrier, then new sheet rock etc. but that gets expensive. The cheapest way to do this is apply a vapor retardant paint and seal around any wall penetrations such as electrical outlet and light switch boxes. You can buy a foam material that goes under the outlet plate of switch plate. Just remove the screw or screws, remove the plate, put in the foam insulator and replace the plate and screw(s).