+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 11
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Unhappy three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    I want to change the three way switches in a hallway to a single pole motion switch. I would put a covering over one switch box? There is a (double) white wire connected, two black wires and a red wire in one box and a white wire, a black wire and a red wire in the second box. Any advice would be appreciated.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,505

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    To kill one switch, simple remove the switch, cap off the wires and install a 'blind' plate.

    At the other location do nothing.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Wink Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Thanks for your reply but your suggestion doesn't work:

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Location
    New London County, CT
    Posts
    99

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    You need to connect the wire that came off the common screw (usually black) to one of the other wires with a wire nut and then cap off the remaining wire.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Again thanks for the replies. I have tried the suggestions given but I guess what I need is a little more detail. - In the instructions I have read in other responses there is "talk" of the [traveller wire], what is this? I have, as I mentioned, with three wires - white, red & black. The second box has
    five wires [ two whites which are connected, a red and two black]. Power comes in on one of the black wires. Any help will be appreciated.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Quote Originally Posted by bootsfeet View Post
    I want to change the three way switches in a hallway to a single pole motion switch. I would put a covering over one switch box? There is a (double) white wire connected, two black wires and a red wire in one box and a white wire, a black wire and a red wire in the second box. Any advice would be appreciated.
    Any motion switches ( occupancy wall switch ) I've seen all require a neutral wire hookup.
    If that's case with the one you wish to use ; then , unfortunately the existing wiring you describe doesn't allow for any neutral connection at the switch location.

    In other words you would need 3 conductors between the switch and light fixture --- switched feed to turn light on/off , constant hot feed , .neutral ,

    Currently you only have -- constant hot feed & switch feed.

    Leaving only two options ...

    1) leave things as is
    -- or --
    2) run a new 3 conductor cable from light fixture and switch locations.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,622

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Quote Originally Posted by bootsfeet View Post
    I want to change the three way switches in a hallway to a single pole motion switch. I would put a covering over one switch box? There is a (double) white wire connected, two black wires and a red wire in one box and a white wire, a black wire and a red wire in the second box. Any advice would be appreciated.
    While you list what wires are in the first box, what wires are actually connected to the first switch? Second question, which switch do you want to replace?


    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Quote Originally Posted by bootsfeet View Post
    I want to change the three way switches in a hallway to a single pole motion switch. I would put a covering over one switch box? There is a (double) white wire connected, two black wires and a red wire in one box and a white wire, a black wire and a red wire in the second box. Any advice would be appreciated.
    While I agree with Jack --- it's good to know what wires are connected to where is helpful.
    Based on the provided information , here's what I see as a possible configuration that exists................

    Last edited by canuk; 03-04-2013 at 09:55 AM.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Columbiana, Alabama
    Posts
    644

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Boots, There are some UL listed Lutron occupancy sensor switches that only have two black and a green wire. One is the Maestro 1 pole 250W (MS/OPS2H/WH) and is available at Home Depot for about $22.

    It uses the bare wire in place of the neutral, to power the electronics. If this were a new installation Code would require you to use a sensor that has a neutral. But, this one can be used in your application with LED, CFL, incandescent lamps up to 250W and others.

    Here is their installation manual: http://www.homedepot.com/catalog/pdf...aa3ee0a0ea.pdf
    24/7 technical assistance is also available at 1 800 523-9466

    For safety, be sure the power to the circuit is off while handling wires.

    Using Canuck's drawing:

    1) disconnect the blk, rd and wht wires that go to switch #2 and cap off. At switch #2, as Houston said, remove the switch and install a blank cover.
    2) that leaves a blk and a wht coming from the ceiling light. Since the power to this circuit seems to be fed from the ceiling you may want to test for this, prior to installing the occupancy switch.
    3) If so, simply remove twist the blk and wht together and the light should come on. Untwist them and it goes off.
    4) Now connect the one of the blk on the occupancy sensor to the blk from the ceiling (hot) and the other blk wire to the wht.
    5) lastly, connect the green to the bare.
    6) some easy programming of the switch is required.
    Good Luck from Columbiana, Alabama
    Maurice Turgeon, Hidden Content

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    The Great White North
    Posts
    4,045

    Default Re: three way switch(es) to single pole switch

    Maurice -- good call.
    As mentioned earlier , all ones I've been involved with require a neutral.
    "" an ounce of perception -- a pound of obscure "
    - Rush

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •