+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Hybrid View

Default I think it is time for a new mower

Okay everybody. I think I am going to do it. Get a riding lawnmower that is. I've been using a push mower on my yard for the past 6 years. It's not that big of a yard. Probably 2 acres at most. But the more and more I look at riding mowers, the more I really want one. After some searching on the internet I've come across husqvarna a lot. Many reviews say they are good. I saw this mower first. I was also looking at one from Lowe's. That seems to be a good brand name too. I know a riding mower is going to be pretty expensive, but I think I am ready to make the switch.

So my point for coming here is: Has anyone out there made the switch and had a good reaction? Bad experience? I'm hoping everyone will say that they will never look back after getting a riding mower.

Default Re: I think it is time for a new mower

Husqvarna is very good, but I've heard that folks who have John Deere can't stop talking about their mowers. They like to say: "It's the last riding mower you'll ever buy".

Worth checking?

Wait till those folks need a part for their John Deere. My neighbor spent more money just for a fuel pump for his John Deere than I have spent on parts for my older Murray.

I have a Husqvarna high wheel string trimmer and except for the color, it is identical to the Craftsman at Sears, but about $100 cheaper. The main thing to look at is the engine. If you can find one with a Honda engine, it probably would be the best but I don't recall seeing a Honda engine on a rider. Avoid anything with a Tecumseh engine.

We are on our second John Deere riding mower, The last one is still running after 25 years but I can't get a new deck for it which is what is bad now. And it has been used on an average of 10 acres a year. As far as parts go I did replace the seat and it needs a new muffler.