+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Longest Unfinished Project

TOH reader Aaron F. in Omaha, Nebraska writes:

Has TOH ever invited readers to submit their longest-standing incomplete DIY project? I gotta believe I’d be one of the finalists. You might receive some rather hilarious accounts of tool-toting weekend warriors who have “whenareyagonnafinish”-itis.

Well, Aaron, consider TOH readers and web users--including yourself--invited. Share your stories by replying to this thread.

Default Re: Longest Unfinished Project - Master Bath

I have an 8 x 10 master bath complete tear out that I have been working on since Oct 2007. I gutted the room, cut a massive hole in the master bedroom wall for french doors and then the project came to screeching halt.

The jacuzzi tub requires 2 legs in my circuit box in the attic and I need to do extensive plumbing alterations to accommodate the tub/sinks. I also have to raise the tub off of the floor 4 inches for room to run the sink drain.

The thing that started the beginning of the end of this project is that my shoulders have calcium deposits that are pinching a nerve and my knees have deteriorated to bone on bone and I can no longer climb a ladder or bend/stoop for even short periods to lay tile or even lift more than a few pounds without a great deal of pain. I bought almost everything needed and even called a plumber to help get the project along, but with an estimate of $1500.00 for 2 hours worth of copper work, I said NO WAY! So my master bath sits idle. Every day I look at it and say to myself that maybe tomorrow if I don't hurt so bad, I will try to do something. So far after 2 years, not one single day of relief has come nor has one single tile been laid. I fear that it will never get done at this point. I had such great plans. It just isn't fair.

I will try to upload pics.