+ Reply to Thread

Hybrid View

Default Thin hairline cracks in Plaster Paris - how to fix?

I am just learning how to be a handy-person. I have patched the nail holes in the plaster using some CGC compound, sanding and then reapplying (for far 5 times). I know it is overkill, but again I am just learning.
    I have noticed some hairline cracks in both the ceiling and the walls. How should I go about fixing this? Do I need to buy that mesh stuff? Any help is appreciated.

Default Re: Thin hairline cracks in Plaster Paris - how to fix?

Hairline cracks can be fixed without that "mesh stuff".

You will need to enlarge the cracks just a little bit, using a utility knife, so that the plaster of paris mix that you will prepare for that will go in the wider cracks. You can apply the mix with a brush or with your fingers (it's a lot of fun, but wear thin gloves). Let dry, then sand lightly. IMHO, some very thin and barely visible cracks are not worth messing with.

thank you so much for the reply!
    I have the pre-mixed Plaster paris, so I hope that is ok. And I bought the TAPE rather than the mesh - the store associate talked me into it, so I also hope that isn't a problem.

UPDATE:
    Well I tried the tape - and not being a professional, it shows way too much. I stripped the tape off and I am just going to use filler in the cracks for now until I know more.
    Last edited by netrate; 03-15-2012 at 12:17 PM.

The problems that accrue to using patching plaster by far outweigh the very slight speed advantage/ 1) no chemical bond to the underlying lime plaster browncoat, or the lime & gauging whitecoat. It will hold only by a mechanical bond.
    2) No tensile strength.