+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12
  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    25

    Default GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    I wanted to add ductfree range hood on a circuit which has GFCI outlet in first position..wanted to check wires so I opened GFCi outlet and found 2 black and 2 white wires...

    can some one explain what is the meaning of having 2 white and 2 black wires...total 4? I dont think any of them is ground...

    also can I add 2 amp rated under cabinet duct free range hood on this circuit where only other items in circuits is 1.kitchen lights 2. utility room lights

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Quote Originally Posted by vikasintl View Post
    I wanted to add ductfree range hood on a circuit which has GFCI outlet in first position..wanted to check wires so I opened GFCi outlet and found 2 black and 2 white wires...

    can some one explain what is the meaning of having 2 white and 2 black wires...total 4? I dont think any of them is ground...

    also can I add 2 amp rated under cabinet duct free range hood on this circuit where only other items in circuits is 1.kitchen lights 2. utility room lights
    The GFI is protecting something (fixture/receptacle) down the line. Two wires (black/White) are the Line (power coming in) and the two other B&W wires are the Load (something being feed and protected down stream)

    Additional 2amps is not much if all that's on that circuit is lighting.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,360

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    You can add the ducting wire to the line wires of the GFI. Are you sure there is no ground? The GFI is useless without one.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    25

    Question Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    I thought gfci outlet is for the circuits which don't have ground wire....and you are saying its useless without ground..

    Also circuit which has GFCI outlet with 2 wires (black+white) for in and two wires (black+white)
    for out..and have following lights on this circuit..

    1. three 75 watt light bulbs in one lighting fixture in kitchen.
    2. two 75 watt light bulbs in dining area in one fixture.
    3. one 75 watt light bulb at main entrance of house (entry door)
    4. two 75 watt light bulbs in utility room

    Will it be against the code if we add 2 amp rated range hood in this circuit ?
    Last edited by vikasintl; 02-24-2012 at 11:53 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    1,387

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Howdy so you want to add a fan hood to a small appliance kitchen circuit? Is this GFI outlet above the the counter? Most building Codes says no to this. Because items plugged into the outlet need lots of start up power...
    Perhaps you can locate an noon overloaded circuit close by to draw power from or run another circuit?
    Any an all of my comments are just my opinion and not to be confused with facts.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    25

    Question Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Here are the circuits in question.

    Circuit 1 - small appliance circuit which has 20 amp circuit breaker and no. 1 out let is GFCI outlet because this circuit does not have ground wire ....

    Items connected to this circuit..
    1. Refrigerator
    2. plug in microwave oven (not otr type)
    3. can opener
    4. juicer/mixer


    Circuit 2 - This circuit has 15 amp breaker and items connected
    (I guess we can call it a lighting circuit, not sure though??)

    1. 13w cfl light bulb at door entry
    2. 2 prong outlet which is converted to 6 prong and its supplying to TV and cordless phone charger and dvd player connected at present..

    Above two are connected to two prong switch outlet in living room.

    3. three 13 watt cfl light bulbs in one lighting fixture in kitchen- one switch
    4. two 13 watt cfl light bulbs in dining area in one lighting fixture- one switch
    5. one 13 watt cfl light bulbs in utility room in one lighting fixture...one switches
    6. two 13 watt cfl bulbs in the same circuit..- one switch

    Circuit 1 - small appliance circuit which has 20 amp circuit breaker and no. 1 out let is GFCI outlet because this circuit does not have ground wire ....

    Items connected to this circuit..
    1. Refrigerator
    2. plug in microwave oven (not otr type)
    3. can opener
    4. juicer/mixer


    Circuit 2 - This circuit has 15 amp breaker and items connected

    1. 13w cfl light bulb at door entry
    2. 2 prong outlet which is converted to 6 prong and its supplying to TV and cordless phone charger and dvd player connected at present..

    Above two are connected to two prong switch outlet in living room.

    3. three 13 watt cfl light bulbs in one lighting fixture in kitchen- one switch
    4. two 13 watt cfl light bulbs in dining area in one lighting fixture- one switch
    5. one 13 watt cfl light bulbs in utility room in one lighting fixture...one switches
    6. two 13 watt cfl bulbs in the same circuit..- one switch

    now..these are the circuits...what is the easiest way to put range hood (its not a plug in type) ...I would prefer lighting circuit (circuit 2 ) because its closer to hood.


    Please note that range hood in question is duct free broan 41000 k range hood ..its not a plug in type...


    I am not an electrician so ..when suggestion is to run a new circuit..its not comfortable...as I don't know how..mainly through existing walls..
    Last edited by vikasintl; 02-24-2012 at 01:18 PM.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    GFCI outlets do not need a ground to work. They monitor the amount of current flowing from hot to neutral. If there is an imbalance it will trip. But if there is no ground it must be labeled indicating "No Equipment Ground"

    If you want to tie into a circuit with only lighting I see no problem. But lighting only, any circuit with appliances and high current fixtures should not be used.

    If you have ANY doubt to your ability and/or certainty as to what is proper you need to consult (at the very least) with a qualified electrician.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,557

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRemodeler View Post
    You can add the ducting wire to the line wires of the GFI. Are you sure there is no ground? The GFI is useless without one.
    The ground wire serves no purpose on a GFCI receptacle then than providing ground to the ground pin on a plug.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Houston Texas
    Posts
    2,360

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Really? No ground wire needed? There have been times when the ground was off the GFI would not re set.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    93

    Default Re: GFCI outlet has 2 white and 2 black wires

    Quote Originally Posted by HoustonRemodeler View Post
    Really? No ground wire needed? There have been times when the ground was off the GFI would not re set.
    Houston there are many reasons why, fault down stream/plugged in appliance, bad connection (line reversed) etc.. Very rarely will it be a defective GFCI

    There's a reason it's not working, but a properly wired and functional GFCI without a ground will not stop it from doing what it's supposed to do, but something in the circuit is.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •