+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Water Pressure

Default Water Pressure

I I live in a 40yr old home My water pressure at
    the outside faucet is 60lbs I have pressure problems inside of the home at times with the showers sinks and toilets. Now when I
    bought the house in 07 someone made a attempt to put in a downstairs shower and sink. I'm no expert at all but this doesn't
    look right. Any Ideas

Default Re: Water Pressure

Rob,

Where do you live? I'm gonna guess you have galvanized steel pipes in your old house. Are they silvery grey? With rust at the joints? If yes, then its time to start replacing each and every pipe in your home. Galvanized pipes have an expected lifespan right around 30 years, depending on use and water quality. They corrode from the inside out so you can't see the damage by eye. The inside of the pipe rusts and forms flakes, much like the plaque in my arteries. Over time the rust accumulates and chokes off the flow of water. The weakest spots are where the steel is the thinnest, which is the threaded part of the pipe, at the joint.

Start replacing your pipes around the HWH (hot water heater)as that is the usual first location for pipes to start exploding. You can incorporate pipe replacement with each new home remodeling project, converting the pipes over as you move along OR replace them all at once, depending on your budget and luckiness.

I just replaced my gas HWH. The 19 year old one was working just fine so this was a pre-emptive move on my part. The exit pipe of the HWH was nearly closed off with rust and when I went to loosen the flex hose, the pipe snapped off. The clogged and broken nipple was 12 years old, and I had used di-electric unions.
    Last edited by HoustonRemodeler; 02-12-2012 at 09:25 AM.

60 pressure is good.

First thing, you have to tell us what kind of pipes you have in your house, it will help us to eliminate many of the common causes for low pressure.

Check it out and write back.

Things we need to know: