+ Reply to Thread

Default Separation between driveway and garage

I have a separation between my concrete driveway and garage that has expanded where the previous expansion gap was previously. There are no cracks in the driveway but a home inspection cited it as a problem. Anyone have ideas on how to seal the crack without having to remove a big piece of the driveway.

Thanks!

Default Re: Separation between driveway and garage

Is the crack a straight line (like a seam that's opened up) or a jagged crack? How wide is the gap?
    The "Senior Member" designation under my name doesn't mean I know a lot, it just means I talk a lot.I've been a DIYer since I was 12 (thanks, Dad!). I have read several books on various home improvement topics. I do not have any current code books I can refer to. I was an apprentice plumber for two years.

The gap is straight and is about 3'' wide. There are no ragged edges.

You certainly have a problem with movement. 3" gap will require an investigation to find out why it's happening. A mere band aid won't do.

How long did it take the driveway to detach 3" away from the garage? If it happened fast, contact a professional (reputable cement contractor or an engineer). If slow, do a repair.

Rather than filling in the 3" gap with new concrete, I'd:
    - cut off a foot of the driveway, straight line widthwise, and break and remove the concrete.
    - Inspect the soil. If OK, prepare it by compacting well.
    - Then drill 5/8"x9" holes into the garage concrete, 24" o.c.
    - Insert 18" #4 rebar in the holes and inject epoxy (available at masonry shops) to fill the holes.
    - When dry, pour new concrete up to the garage concrete. These rebars will tie your driveway to the garage.

3" inches is a problem.. if it were 1/2" id let it go. the garage slab and the driveway are supposed to be treated as two seperate slabs as one is exterior and one interior.. they should be allowed to move independently via a control joint..