+ Reply to Thread
Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 23

Thread: First Table saw

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Huntsville, Al
    Posts
    19

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Think of it like cutting down a tree with a handsaw instead of a chainsaw.
    Great analogy.

    Thanks, I will make an effort to go to a Woodcraft or Rockler store to check out what they have and talk to the guys there. I have also contacted my shop tech from college to see what he recommends.

    The Delta Unisaw is very appealing.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Keyport, NJ
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: First Table saw

    It sounds like you are setting yourself up to a professional woodworker. If that is the case, invest in professional level machines. They will last a long time if you take care of them. You will want that electrical upgrade to be able to handle other pro level machines. A jointer and a planer is a must for furniture making, so keep that in mind.

    In my home shop I have a Saw Stop Professional 3hp table saw, a 15" Powermatic surface planer, and an 8" Powermatic Jointer.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Hi

    Excelent information, is necesary don't forguet the secutiry related to.

    we will take the advices posted here.

    regards

    gusblog

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    nova scotia, canada
    Posts
    1,522

    Default Re: First Table saw

    spruce. i have the bosch ts4000, its 15 amps 4.4 hp. i can resaw hardwoods on it with ease while simply plugged in to any outlet
    fire up the saw and make some dust

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,795

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Quote Originally Posted by jkirk View Post
    spruce. i have the bosch ts4000, its 15 amps 4.4 hp. i can resaw hardwoods on it with ease while simply plugged in to any outlet
    How is that possible? 15 amps @ 120 volts wold only produce 2.4 H.P. with a 100% efficient motor.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    nova scotia, canada
    Posts
    1,522

    Default Re: First Table saw

    i dont know the engineering of it.. i just know i cant bog the thing down even ripping jatoba, or wet framing material... ive been able to bring a dewalt to a dead stop while still holding the material... buhhh.. black and yellow..
    fire up the saw and make some dust

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Northern Virginia
    Posts
    1,171

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Amazing since it takes 240V to develop 3 HP in a table saw motor, and 5 HP is only possible with three phase power. They have broken the laws of electricity.
    Casey
    Remove not the ancient landmark, which your fathers have set.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Keyport, NJ
    Posts
    36

    Default Re: First Table saw

    First a correction. I have the industrial version of the SawStop.

    To add, I can get a single phase 5 hp motor for my Saw Stop. I do need 3 phase for the 7 hp though. I'm not sure how they come up with the rating on the motors, but 5 hp single phase is common for saws.

    Specs found here: http://www.sawstop.com/products/indu...net-saw/specs/

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    7,028

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Quote Originally Posted by Sombreuil_mongrel View Post
    Amazing since it takes 240V to develop 3 HP in a table saw motor, and 5 HP is only possible with three phase power. They have broken the laws of electricity.
    Casey
    That is pretty much what I found when I bought my shop (new, professional grade machines ). 110 will get you to about 1.5 HP on a good day.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Fayette County, Ohio
    Posts
    5,795

    Default Re: First Table saw

    Quote Originally Posted by drooplug View Post
    First a correction. I have the industrial version of the SawStop.

    To add, I can get a single phase 5 hp motor for my Saw Stop. I do need 3 phase for the 7 hp though. I'm not sure how they come up with the rating on the motors, but 5 hp single phase is common for saws.

    Specs found here: http://www.sawstop.com/products/indu...net-saw/specs/
    We have been talking about single phase saws. The question is on the size and still use a on 120 volt circuit.

    Jack
    Be sure you live your life, because you are a long time dead.-Scottish Proverb

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •