+ Reply to Thread

Smile How do I prune a Spruce to fill out like a Christmas Tree?

I have a couple of spruce trees on my property and I was wandering if anyone knew how I should be pruning them so they will fill out like a Christmas Tree as they grow? Currently they range from 3 to 6 feet in height.

Mike

Default Re: How do I prune a Spruce to fill out like a Christmas Tree?

I am not an expert, but I do have over 50 spruce in just a 1/2 acre lot. After the new growth appears, snip just the new growth back 1/2. This will help get the tree fuller. If the tree is really leggy, just do the longer branches. This worked for me. Mine are now over 35 ft tall and dying on the bottom branches.

Default Re: How do I prune a Spruce to fill out like a Christmas Tree?

When I sheared Noble fir Christmas trees on a tree farm for three summers, I would shear with a knife (machete style, but with a lighter, sharper knife) removing the tips of the new growth but not cutting into the older growth. The more material removed, the fuller the tree will grow.

Spruce is similar in structure to Noble fir.

Since this will be the first time pruning, just prune back -- into older wood if necessary -- just enough to give the tree close to the general shape you want. You don't need to prune every tip. Since you'll be removing the terminal buds of the tips, this will force other buds to develop into branches, filling out the tree.

After the new growth comes on next summer (wait for it to finish growing), you can then begin shearing it to shape, trimming the new growth. It may take several years to fill out. You'll probably want to use hedge shears; swinging a machete or knife can be dangerous without chaps and steel-toed shoes.