+ Reply to Thread

Default Geothermal and radiant heating

In a few years, we will be doing a massive renovation of our house and we are in the planning stages now. One of the things we are thinking about is doing a geothermal system but instead of an air handler, we would like to do an in floor radiant heat system. Looking on line, it says that it is possible, but everyone that I have talked who has a geothermal system as a forced air system.

Does anyone in here have an in-floor radiant geothermal system?

*As a side note, we are also looking at installing a whole house air filter with heat exchanger.

Default Re: Geothermal and radiant heating

I think I've seen some chatter about using geothermal for domestic hot water, so radiant heat should be possible. However, most geothermal systems are used for both heat and AC so it makes since to go forced air. Its less complicated that way.

Mike,

I have been doing standard hydronic installations for many years, and have one in my own home, and am familiar with many of the components of that go into geothermal and radiant heating.

I have read your blog info about your refurbishing of the 3500 sq.ft. house you have there in Grand Rapids, and can understand your feeling that you would rather do renovation & repair projects on a DIY basis, than spend $$$ on hiring a contractor for this, that or the other---I can understand your feeling on this, and it IS possible to save lots of $$$ on quite a number of DIY ventures.