+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Gas vs. Electric; Separate Oven/Range vs. Combined?

My spouse and I are planning a complete redesign of our kitchen and are trying to decide which cooking configuration would be best for us. Gas is very appealing because of its reliability during power outages. However, I have heard that baking in gas ovens is tricky because they do not maintain the desired temperature as well as electric ovens. This makes me wonder if a gas range with an electric oven elsewhere is a good option. We do alot of cooking and baking in our kitchen, so having appliances that consistently do their jobs is very important.

Which cooking setup works best for you?

Default Re: Gas vs. Electric; Separate Oven/Range vs. Combined?

I am not a proponent of gas, I have yet to find a gas cooking device that is adequately controllable. While newer appliances are better, they're still lacking. You are correct that electric ovens are better than gas.

Whether you get a combination free standing unit or purchase separate cooktop/oven appliances is up to your personal preference. The advantage of separate appliances is that the ovens can be mounted at eye level, making them easier to see into and use.

If you do a lot of baking, then you probably know the benefits of a dual oven, especially for holiday cooking and parties. If you want to go the double oven route, then I would suggest designing a separate cooktop and double oven lay out rather than a freestanding appliance.

As I mentioned, newer gas appliances are better than they used to be, but that doesn't make them good. The problem is in being able to turn the flame low enough to simmer/warm a pot rather than keep it at a full boil. As long as you only want to use high temps, gas may be fine.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!