+ Reply to Thread

Default recent flooding repairs

Hello all,
    I'm new to these discussion boards and I am seeking advice over a resent discussion with a flood insurance adjuster. I will post my original question addressed to this old house:

I have recently been flooded and upon gutting the interior drywall and insulation I couldn't believe my eyes. There is drywall on the exterior of my home behind the brick. It needs to be replaced (with plywood hopefully). My insurance is not willing at this time to pay for the removal of the brick to access the damaged drywall. They are giving me $9.00 per sq ft. to address the problem. They are suggesting to remove each wall, replace the sheathing, and put it back up again without touching the brick. Is this right? How then is the brick tied in? I'm I being ripped off? Please offer some advice.

Thanks

Default Re: recent flooding repairs

You need someone knowledgeable with brick and wall repair as you describe to talk with you and your adjuster together. I can tell you it's going to cost you a whole lot more than $9 per foot to get it repaired correctly. You probably won't get full replacement value - insurance rarely ever does - but they will work with you to get your home repaired to the best that your coverage allows.

I've done a fair amount of flood work, and each time I had to educate the adjuster as to exactly how much work was involved to restore the property. We never got full replacement value, but we did get the reimbursement up to at least cover necessities.
    I suffer from CDO ... Its like OCD, but in alphabetical order, LIKE IT SHOULD BE!!!